Pasión (San Jose)

Ensemble San Francisco returned for the 2014-15 season with an exciting Spanish and Latin American inspired program, Pasión. The evening featured a stellar cast of musicians, including one of the SF Symphony’s newest members: Matt Young playing the fiendishly difficult viola solo of the Paganini Guitar Quartet No. 15. Mezzo-soprano Betany Coffland reprised her role as Carmen which she sang with Opera San Jose, and guest flutist Joanna Goldstein and guitarist Steven Lin performed Piazzolla’s wonderful Café 1930 from Histore du tango.

   • Paganini – Guitar Quartet No. 15
   • Piazzolla – Café 1930
   • Granero – Noche del Amor Insomne
   • De Falla – Siete Canciones Populares Españolas
   • Kovács – Homage à Manuel de Falla
   • Bizet – Habanera from Carmen
   • Turina – Circulo
   • Wineglass – OctaRhumba